Lorna Simpson(b.1960)


Lorna Simpson NecklinesLorna Simpson Face PortraitThe mainstream art people prefer Kara Walker. I must say that I don’t particularly like her work–all of this slave nonsense, and even she claiming that black people like to be slaves. I do like the work of Lorna Simpson (Necklines ) (r.) and (Face Portrait(c.). I had the pleasure of meeting her, and hanging her show at the Portland Art Museum, Portland, Oregon in 1990, when I was an art preparator there.  A Brooklyn, New York native, she says, “I do not appear in any of my work. I think maybe there are elements to it, and moments that I use from my own personal experience, or the way we interpret things about identity.”

Leave a Reply

